Category Archives: Uncategorized

There is nothing better than the ashes rivalry and the banter that goes with it. Betfair have managed to put together FanvFan featuring Jason Gillespie and Phil Tufnell. 

Fan v Fan brings together English cricketing legend Phil ‘Tuffers’ Tufnell and Aussie fast-bowling giant Jason ‘Dizzy’ Gillespie as rivals competing in a series of special head-to-head challenges. The Betfair Challenges take place over the summer, and see Tuffers and Dizzy battling it out in the name of their respective country’s national pride to see which of them will be crowned Fan v Fan champion.


These guys have completed their first challenge, pedallo racing and are gearing up for the second challenge mower racing. With horse racing and zorbing coming as well as other challenges its going to be an interesting summer!!!

Sit back, relax and enjoy


Twenty20 World Cup 2009 Fixtures

Group A
India – A1 / Bangladesh – A2 / Ireland

Group B
Pakistan – B1 / England – B2 / The Netherlands

Group C
Australia – C1 / Sri Lanka – C2 / West Indies

Group D
New Zealand – D1 / South Africa – D2 / Scotland

Super Eight Groups
Group E
A1 / B2 / C1 / D2

Group F
A2 / B1 / C2 / D1

2009 Twenty20 World Cup Group Fixtures (All Times BST)
5 June – England v The Netherlands 1 (Lords, 17.30)

6 June – New Zealand v Scotland (Oval, 10.00)

Australia v West Indies (Oval, 13.30)

India v Bangladesh (Trent Bridge, 17.30)

7 June – South Africa v Scotland (Oval, 13.30)

England v Pakistan (Oval, 17.30)

8 June – Ireland v Bangladesh (Trent Bridge, 13.30)

Australia v Sri Lanka (Trent Bridge, 17.30)

9 June – Pakistan v The Netherlands (Lords, 13.30)

New Zealand v South Africa (Lords, 17.30)

10 June – Sri Lanka v West Indies (Trent Bridge, 13.30)

India v Ireland (Trent Bridge, 17,30)

2009 Twenty20 World Cup Super Eight Fixtures
11 June – D1 v A2 (Trent Bridge, 13.30)

B2 v D2 (Trent Bridge, 17.30)

12 June – B1 v C2 (Lords, 13.30)

A1 v C1 (Lords, 17.30)

13 June – C1 v D2 (Oval, 13.30)

D1 v B1 (Oval, 17.30)

14 June – A2 v C2 (Lords, 13.30)

A1 v B2 (Lords, 17.30)

15 June – B2 v C1 (Oval, 13.30)

B1 v A2 (Oval, 17.30)

16 June – D1 v C2 (Trent Bridge, 13.30)

D2 v A1 (Trent Bridge, 17.30)

2009 Twenty20 World Cup Semi Final Fixtures
18 June – Winner Group E v Runner Up Group F (Trent Bridge, 17.30)

19 June – Winner Group F v Runner Up Group E (Oval, 17.30)

2009 Twenty20 World Cup Final
21 June – Winner Semi Final 1 v Winner Semi Final 2 (Lords, 15.00)

Twenty20 World Cup Squads 2009

India twenty20 World Cup Squad: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan singh, Praveen Kumar, RP Singh.

Sri Lanka twenty20 World Cup Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Indika De Saram (Wicketkeeper), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Jehan Mubarak, Ajantha Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan (Vice-Captain), Chamara Silva, Thilan Thushara, Isuru Udana.

Pakistan twenty20 World Cup Squad: Younis Khan (Captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Fawad Alam, Kamran Akmal (Wicketkeeper), Mohammad Aamer, Misbah-ul-Haq, Saeed Ajmal, Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Iftikhar Anjum, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat, Shahzaib Hasan, Sohail Tanveer.

Bangladesh twenty20 World Cup Squad: Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Abdur Razzak, Junaid Siddique, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeepr), Mithun Ali, Naeem Islam, Rubel Hossain, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Shamsur Rahman,.

England twenty20 World Cup Squad: Paul Collingwood (Captain), Ravi Bopara, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, James Foster (Wicketkeeper), Robert Key, Graham Napier, Luke Wright, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Adil Rashid.

New Zealand twenty20 World Cup Squad: Daniel Vettori (Captain), Brendon McCullum (Wicketkeeper), Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Neil Broom, Jacob Oram, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Ian Butler, Peter McGlashan (Wicketkeeper), Kyle Mills, Brendon Diamanti, Iain O’Brien.

South Africa twenty20 World Cup Squad: Graeme Smith (Captain), Johan Botha (Vice-Captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Mark Boucher (Wicketkeeper), AB Devilliers, J.P. Duminy, H.Gibbs, J.Kallis, Albie Morkel, M.Morkel, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Dale Styen, R.van der Merwe.

Netherlands twenty20 World Cup Squad: Jeroen Smits (Captain/Wicketkeeper), Peter Borren, Mudassar Bukhari, Tom de Grooth, Maurits Jonkman, Alexei Kervezee, Dirk Nannes, Ruud Nijman, Darron Reekers, Edgar Schiferli, Pieter Seelaar, Daan van Bunge, Bas Zuiderent, Ryan tan Doeschate, Eric Szwarczynski.

Australia twenty20 World Cup Squad: Squad: Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Clarke, Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Peter Siddle, Andrew Symonds, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Scotland twenty20 World Cup Squad: Gavin Hamilton (Captain), Richie Berrington, John Blain, Kyle Coetzer, Majid Haq, Gordon Drummond, Niel McCallum, Dewald Nel, Navdeep Poonia, Glenn Rogers, Colin Smith (Wicketkeeper), Jan Stander, Ryan Watson, Fraser Watts, Craig Wright.

Ireland twenty20 World Cup Squad: William Porterfield (Captain), Jeremy Bray, Peter Connell, Andre Botha, Alex Cusack, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, Kyle McCallan, Kevin O’Brien, Naill O’Brien (Wicketkeeper), Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Regan West, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.

SA vs Aus 2nd Test Preview

Australia is 1 up in the test series and deservedly so. They bounced back from a disastrous start and the captain and possibly best batsman currently around steered the ship back from a perilously close wreckage. The other hero was Mitchell Johnson, with a quick fire 96, not bad for a tailender!! Of course the man on debut, Marcus North helped he cause with a century on debut, however the drop catch of Ponting was far more crucial than North’s century.

Looking towards the second test, I would not be surprised to see Albie Morkel crack the nod ahead of Paul Harris, SA are certainly a batsman/all-rounder short and this is where the great Shaun Pollock is missed. I will be surprised to see SA go in without a spinner, but the decision to replace Lonwabo Tsotsobe a specialist bowler with the all rounder is a curious one and Mickey Arthur must have something up his sleeve. The reason Ashwell isn’t there is Arthur needs another bowling option so don’t be surprised to see Neil McKenzie or Harris get the chop. Money on Harris to be dropped though.

SA has everything to play for knowing a loss, will not only lose the series but the opportunity to take number 1 spot from Australia. Despite the Australians having an inexperienced side, the world knows that Australia can field a second XI and still be competitive.

Here’s hoping for another great match tomorrow and over the weekend