Australia and South Africa Test squads

SA squad: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robbie Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile

South Africa have left out the talented Quinton de Kock and instead gone for Thami Tsolekile in what can only be described as a transformation move. Thami is a great player but he hasn’t played a test in the past 10 years and its unlikely he will feature against an Australian side on a high. Tahir has been dropped and Robbie Petersen along with JP will offer the spin options.

Test squad Michael Clarke (capt), Brad Haddin (vice-capt), Jackson Bird, Alex Doolan, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Australia are on a high after annihilating England in the ashes and despite their warm up game rained off, will be keen to maintain the 44 year unbeaten in a test series in SA streak.