Category Archives: Thandi Tshabalala

SA Emerging Squad

This tournament is a benchmark to get the fringe players into the National side and has helped players like Philander make a name for himself. SA has performed well in this competition – often SA have taken players with international experience which generally the other sides don’t have. Watch out for Wayne Parnell fresh from the u19 World cup. Dean Elgar is a definite up and coming youngster to watch and Henry Davids has had the season of his life.

“We have won this competition in the last two years, beating Australia and New Zealand in the final. This is a tough competition and the experience gained by our players is invaluable for the later international tours”, Vince van der Bijl, Cricket South Africa’s High Performance general manager said.

Ahmed Amla (capt), Yusuf Abdullah, Werner Coetzee, Henry Davids, CJ de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Imraan Khan, Rory Kleinveldt, Wayne Parnell, Daryn Smit (wk), Blake Snijman, Thandi Tshabalala, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Vaughan van Jaarsveld.

SA Twenty20 Cricket Squad Announced

On Saturday the South African squad was announced for the upcoming Twenty20 Cup. There was the shock omission of Jaques Kallis, which can easily be justified if Strydom is sticking to his guns about not exposing all the senior players to this form of cricket. Bearing this in mind, there was no surprise that all the players currently playing for SA “A” in Zimbabwe were left out. This includes Nel, Hall, Langeveldt, Botha, Ontong, van Wyk and Prince (who will join the squad for the second game).

My predictions were slightly wrong as Kallis was replaced by Bodi allowing for Peterson to be dropped as the quota target was reached. Van der Wath replaced Peterson, which adds depth to a rather untested bowling attack apart from Pollock and Ntini. Personally I would have liked to have seen Steyn get the nod and still believe he is the most dangerous bowler we have.

As predicted the Morkel brothers were selected, and if South Africa want to shine, Morne Morkel in particular needs to deliver the goods. If his bowling is accurate, South Africa has a good chance to win the tournament. If there is any shortcoming in the South African line up it will be the in the bowling department, as South Africa have picked a squad full of all rounders instead of specialist bowlers.

The squad selected is a strong one, with a nice blend of youth and experience and will perform strongly in this tournament. The squad consists of: Graeme Smith (capt), Gulam Bodi, Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Justin Kemp, Albie Morkel, Mornè Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Thandi Tshabalala and Johan van der Wath.

South African Provisional Squad for Pro20 World Cup

The squad is as follows: Graeme Smith (Captain), Jacques Kallis (Vice-Captain), Hashim Amla, Loots Bosman, Gulam Bodi, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB De Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Paul Harris, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Neil McKenzie, Albie Morkel, Morné Morkel, André Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Dale Steyn, Roger Telemachus, Alfonso Thomas, Thandi Tshabalala, Johan van der Wath, Morné van Wyk

Out of the 30 members of the provisional squad, half of them will fall away when the final squad is announced. There are few surprises in the squad, however Neil McKenzie returns to the international set-up, along with Hashim Amla. The only real surprise is the amount of spinners selected, especially when there are cries by the nation to develop a world class spinner, 4 have been selected in the form of: Botha, Harris, Peterson and Tshabalala.

Lance Kluener hasn’t been considered even though he would be considered as one of the most dangerous players in this form or cricket. Unless there is a change of captain, Klusener’s international career has ended.Vaughn van Jaarsveld has also been left out of the squad, even after a fantastic domestic season, reaffirming his decision to enter into a kolpak contract.

The tournament kicks off on the 11 September and the final is on the 24th of September.

South Africa vs Ireland 24 June

South Africa faced Ireland in a rain affected game on Sunday. The Irish managed to win the toss which was about the only joy they would get from the game. South Africa didn’t massacre the bowling as some might have predicted, mainly due to debutant Alex Cusack picking up 3 of the top 4 batsman in his 4 overs. He ended up with 3/15 in his spell. Morne van Wyk made sure his recall wouldn’t go unnoticed as he top scored for South Africa with 52 off 84 balls. It might not have been the quickest 50 off his life, but will give him some hope of playing for the national side more often. He was supported by  De Villiers making 40 and Jacques Kallis contributing 46 whilst Kemp made a brisk 18* off 13 balls.

The match was restricted to 31 overs and 173 might not have been enough against a stronger opposition and flashbacks from the world cup friendly against Ireland must have come to haunt the players as Ireland were on 45 off 9 overs before losing their first wicket. Dale Steyn picked up 2/30 off 7 which is fairly respectable in a comeback match. The hero for South Africa was Vernon Philander a man who could become South Africa’s best all- rounder in the near future. Vernon decided to celebrate turning 22 in an unforgettable manner making his debut for the Proteas and setting himself an almost impossible task of bettering his career-best figures in the future. Philander picked up 4/12 in 5.5 overs, and halted in resurgence the Irish had. On the other end of the debut scale was Thandi Tshabalala, who had a fairly innocuous start going for 22 in 3 overs but he did pick up a wicket.

South Africa managed a 42 run win against the Irish, which under the circumstances was a very comfortable win. The only surprising decision made by the Proteas was to not let JP Duminy come in earlier on in the innings, however he did get a bowl (maybe to make up for this oversight) and took 1/16 in 3 overs.